Election 2020: NPP will never win Asawase – Muntaka

NPP will never win Asawase constituency Muntaka

The Member of Parliament (MP) for Asawase Constituency, Alhaji Muntaka Mubarak, has said his seat will not fall into the hands of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the 2020 general elections.

“The constituency is solid and I can assure you [that] 2020, there is no way. Our constituency will never fall by the grace of God. We will continue to do the best that we can to make sure that 2020 we keep it and win to clinch the presidency once again,” the Minority Chief Whip told Adehye FM’s Elisha Adarkwah in an interview on Saturday, 23 June 2018 during the nationwide constituency polls of the main opposition National Democratic Congress.

According to him, the NDC is making every effort to consolidate the gains they have made and will ensure that the party gets more votes to help win the presidential polls as well.

The Asawase constituency has 1,476 delegates with 65 candidates contesting for the various positions.

The election delayed for more than four hours due to ballot paper irregularities. There were misplacement of names and photos of the contestants on the ballot papers.

Some of the affected contestants had to protest and demand for a reprint of the ballot papers.

Accusations were leveled against the incumbent executives for attempting to rig the elections.

The ballot papers were letter reprinted before the elections proceeded.

Commenting on the irregularities, the MP said the errors were not deliberate, adding that they acted swiftly to get fresh ballot sheets to have a successful poll.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here