NDC 2020: I won’t insult opponents in my campaign – Mahama

I wont insult opponents in my campaign Mahama
Mahama interacting with party officials at his office

Ex-President John Mahama has said he will run a clean campaign devoid of attacks against political opponents contesting with him in the NDC presidential primaries.

His comments come after some party members chastised Alban Bagbin for making supposed disparaging comments against some of Mahama’s appointees, and blaming such appointments for the party’s defeat in the 2016 polls.

“I wish to assure that in my own nature, I am not the person that will cast aspersions or negativity or insults at any of my comrades who have declared their intention to run.

And I expect that for all those who support me, they will also follow in the same track and not attack or cast any aspersions against opponents because after the congress we would have to come together again”, Mahama said after declaring his intent to run for NDC presidential primaries.

Read alsoAblakwa’s appointment as Education Minister cost NDC – Bagbin

Mahama also pointed out that he is encouraged by the “broad show of support” by party officials since his declaration.

“Comrades from all walks of life and regions of the country and from all persuasions of the party are gathered here just to help me carry out the assignment of presenting that simple letter to the General Secretary and I wish to say that emboldens me and makes me certain that it is possible if we work together.”

Other candidates who have declared their interest to contest Mahama include the former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), Sylvester Mensah, and Nadowli Kaleo MP, Alban Bagbin.

Others are Dr Ekwow Spio Garbrah; a former Trade and Industry Minister; Former Vice Chancellor of the University for Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Prof. Joshua Alabi, and Cape Coast South MP Kweku Ricketts-Hagan.

Read alsoI will rather join Al-Qaeda than the NPP – Amaliba

The NDC has slated December 7, 2018, for the election of its flagbearer for the 2020 presidential election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here